#WhoWeAreKE – Mwalimu

Mwalimu

I have red lipstick because women like to be pretty and I have put lipstick on myself in the painting.

The artist is a single mother in her 30s. She is a Muslim and was once a teacher.

I have red lipstick because women like to be pretty and I have put lipstick on myself in the painting.

This picture you see is about myself. The colours on the inside don’t mean anything, they are just colours. My hand is black like my skin meaning I am an African. The green represents harmony like my country Kenya. I would like Kenya to have roads, farms, water and hospitals. I have drawn the place I come from, the reserve.

In 1950 there were colonialists. In 1963, we got independence. In 1978, Kenyatta died and in 1982, there was a coup attempt. In 1990, Robert Ouko was killed.

In 1986, I finished my Madrasa classes. I graduated and got a certificate. In 1990, I was employed as a teacher. In 1992, I built my own house. I was lucky to be employed. I own the land and don’t pay rent to anyone. In 1999, I bought goats and began to herd them. In 2003, I gave birth to my first child. My child is a blessing.

The yellow writings represent my character. I like to respect people and to educate them. I don’t like conflict and I am merciful.

I have red lipstick because women like to be pretty and I have put lipstick on myself in the painting. I have plaited my hair in the picture instead of covering it.

What do you think?